Copy & Paste command line content

You have encountered a problem using Far Manager? Here you can get help.
Grano
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 01 Mar, 2011 11:34

Copying command line

Post by Grano » Tue 01 Mar, 2011 11:43

Earlier Far 2.0 builds provided for copying the highlighted part of command line into clipboard (Ctrl+C). This functionality seems to have vanished in the last two stable builds. Should I consider it a bug or a "feature"? (Pasting the contents of the clipboard into command line works OK.)

G, 11:40 Danube Time

Yegor
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon 04 Apr, 2005 13:41
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by Yegor » Tue 01 Mar, 2011 11:45

Code: Select all

t-rex 10.12.2010 00:06:20 +0200 - build 1751

1. Ctrl-Ins does not copy files to clipboard anymore, now this is bound to Ctrl-C.
   Ctrl-C - Copy marked files to clipboard (not taking command line state into account).
So use Ctrl+Ins instead or just create a macro and assign it to Ctrl+C.
Мы не можем ждать милостей от Фара, взять их у него — наша задача! (C) Мичурин

Grano
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 01 Mar, 2011 11:34

Re: Copying command line

Post by Grano » Wed 02 Mar, 2011 14:17

Yes, it works. Спасибо!

G, 14:15

User avatar
saf2825
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed 23 Feb, 2011 15:16
Contact:

Re: Copying command line

Post by saf2825 » Wed 02 Mar, 2011 17:14

I'm using Far 2 x64 Build 1807 in Windows7 and:
Ctrl+Insert, Copy the name of the selected files and folders into the clipboard only if command line is empty.
If there is some text in the command line, when pressing Ctrl+Insert even if it's not highlighted
it will be placed in the clipboard and selected files will be ignored.
Ctrl+C, Do not do anything in either way.Nothing at all.

I think it's a bug in Far 2.0 1807 x64.

Yegor
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon 04 Apr, 2005 13:41
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by Yegor » Wed 02 Mar, 2011 20:04

Under specific conditions Ctrl+C does not work. The issue has been already fixed in Far 3.0.
As a workaround you can use Ctrl+Ins ans Ctrl+C to copy file(s) to clipboard.
Мы не можем ждать милостей от Фара, взять их у него — наша задача! (C) Мичурин

MortenMacFly
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed 30 Apr, 2008 15:31

Copy & Paste command line content

Post by MortenMacFly » Wed 16 Mar, 2011 15:12

Dear all,
I updated from Far1 and would like to use Copy&Paste (CTRL+C/CTRL+V) in file panel mode as in the previous version.
Searching the forums I know that is it working if I disable the panels (CTRL+O) and I also figured out that a macro might do what I want. Hence I am struggling with creating this macro. :-(
Is there probably a ready-to-use macro somewhere that I've missed?
Last edited by HaRT on Fri 01 Jun, 2012 11:18, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic Subject refined

Игорь Юдинцев
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun 03 Apr, 2005 22:00
Location: Казань
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Copy & Paste in panel mode

Post by Игорь Юдинцев » Wed 16 Mar, 2011 16:03

Just type the following sequence in panels:
<Ctrl> + <dot>
<Ctrl> + <Insert>
<Ctrl> + <dot>
Press the desired key: <Ctrl> + <C>

<Ctrl> + <dot>
<Shift> + <Insert>
<Ctrl> + <dot>
Press the desired key: <Ctrl> + <V>

User avatar
HaRT
Moderator
Posts: 8048
Joined: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 17:21
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Copy & Paste in panel mode

Post by HaRT » Wed 16 Mar, 2011 16:26

MortenMacFly
And don't forget to save your macros either by saving the entire configuration (ShiftF9) or by running the dedicated command “far:macro save” from the command line.
Фар есть инструмент, а не нянька. © 2009 DrKnS

MortenMacFly
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed 30 Apr, 2008 15:31

Re: Copy & Paste in panel mode

Post by MortenMacFly » Thu 17 Mar, 2011 12:58

Yes, this worked like a charm! Thank you very much! :wink:

For further reference, if someone is interested in this macro, here it is (registry file format):

kvitekp
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu 05 May, 2011 22:07

Re: Copying command line

Post by kvitekp » Thu 05 May, 2011 22:12

Yegor,

What is the last build of FAR 2.0 that still supports Ctrl+C in the command line? And where I can get it?

Thank you,
/Peter

Игорь Юдинцев
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun 03 Apr, 2005 22:00
Location: Казань
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Copying command line

Post by Игорь Юдинцев » Fri 06 May, 2011 06:18

kvitekp wrote:What is the last build of FAR 2.0 that still supports Ctrl+C in the command line?
Actually, any build will do. If it doesn't work out-of-the-box, bind Ctrl+Insert combination to Ctrl+C keypress with a macro. You only need to press four keys: RCtrl+dot, Ctrl+Insert, RCtrl+dot, Ctrl+C.

gyohng
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 01 Apr, 2011 14:44

Re: Copying command line

Post by gyohng » Mon 18 Jul, 2011 20:43

Would it be possible by default to equal Ctrl-C to Ctrl-Ins, if there is a text in the command line _and_ part of it is selected? (is there any contraindication for it?) I keep hitting Ctrl-C again and again, only to realize it doesn't work.

Yegor
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon 04 Apr, 2005 13:41
Location: Kharkov, Ukraine
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by Yegor » Tue 19 Jul, 2011 08:08

gyohng, take a look at the post above your one.
Мы не можем ждать милостей от Фара, взять их у него — наша задача! (C) Мичурин

mrumka
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 27 Jul, 2011 21:41

Re: Copying command line

Post by mrumka » Wed 27 Jul, 2011 21:50

I'm appreciated team work they improved far manger and make it work on 64 bit platform but MOST VALUABLE FEATURE IS USING CTRL+C to copy text from command line. To copy file path I have to use following combination CTRL+F, CTRL+O, SHIFT+HOME,CTRL+C,CTRL+O. Why you cannot leave old feature as is and make copy all text form command line or textbox to clipboard if no text selected. With absence that feature usability of far is low for me and I think for many system administrators so I have to use Total Commander instead.

User avatar
SlashNet
Posts: 574
Joined: Fri 20 Mar, 2009 09:43
Location: Львов
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by SlashNet » Wed 27 Jul, 2011 22:29

Why you cannot use following combination CTRL+F, CTRL+INS or macroses? facepalm2
ədиw wo⊥є ʚ o⊥ʎнdəʚədəu əɔʚ

Игорь Юдинцев
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun 03 Apr, 2005 22:00
Location: Казань
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Copying command line

Post by Игорь Юдинцев » Thu 28 Jul, 2011 07:05

mrumka wrote:To copy file path I have to use following combination CTRL+F, CTRL+O, SHIFT+HOME,CTRL+C,CTRL+O.
AltShiftIns does the same thing.

Post Reply

Return to “Support and Troubleshooting”