Copy & Paste command line content

You have encountered a problem using Far Manager? Here you can get help.
Игорь Юдинцев
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun 03 Apr, 2005 22:00
Location: Казань
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Copying command line

Post by Игорь Юдинцев » Thu 28 Jul, 2011 07:05

Latest post of the previous page:

mrumka wrote:To copy file path I have to use following combination CTRL+F, CTRL+O, SHIFT+HOME,CTRL+C,CTRL+O.
AltShiftIns does the same thing.

sdalby
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 01 Jun, 2012 10:38

Copy pasting in FAR

Post by sdalby » Fri 01 Jun, 2012 10:43

If i have a some input at the command prompt I can mark it but I dont know how to copy it to my copy/paste buffer for use in other programs.

Can you assist?

TIA
/Soeren

User avatar
John Doe
Бюрократ
Posts: 11395
Joined: Wed 27 Apr, 2005 20:42
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: Copy pasting in FAR

Post by John Doe » Fri 01 Jun, 2012 10:59

Ctrl-Ins/Shift-Ins?

samjones
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:28

Re: Copying command line

Post by samjones » Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:30

I had to go back to 1.7 of FAR mgr. I am on x64 OS, so I lose the shell plugin and stuff.

The lack of ctrl-C natively is a killer. I work on a lot of diff systems, and it is not workable for me to manage the macro on every one.

Not great, sorry to say!

samjones
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:28

Will there be a new build of v2 with Ctrl C fixed?

Post by samjones » Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:31


Yegor
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon 04 Apr, 2005 13:41
Location: San Ramon, CA (Kharkov, UA)
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Will there be a new build of v2 with Ctrl C fixed?

Post by Yegor » Wed 22 Aug, 2012 11:21

Ctrl. CtrlIns Ctrl. CtrlC Enter
Мы не можем ждать милостей от Фара, взять их у него — наша задача! (C) Мичурин

KlepetoX
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun 08 Jan, 2012 08:23
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Copying command line

Post by KlepetoX » Wed 22 Aug, 2012 17:04

I must agree with samjones. Different actions on Ctlr+C and Ctrl+Ins are very confused and I never remember what is what.

It could be configurable or works logically like this (Ctrl+C and Ctrl+Ins are the same):

Empty command line and no files on panel selected: copy file or folder under cursor
Empty command line and files or folders are selected: copy selected files or folders
Not empty command line and no files selected: copy command line
Not empty command line and files or folders selected: copy command line (not empty command line should be prefer before selected files)
Anything selected or not on panels, not empty command line and a selection exists in command line: copy the selection in command line

Simple, logic and there's no need to differ between Ctrl+C and Ctrl+Ins.

samjones
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:28

Re: Copying command line

Post by samjones » Wed 22 Aug, 2012 17:52

In eastern europe, it is normal to use ctrl-ins, not ctrl-c

In north america, it is normal to use ctrl-c, and not ctrl-ins

It is understandable that ctrl-c was dropped by accident, since a lot of FAR users don't use it.
But for us americanskis, the builds without ctrl-c are not useable at all.

I love FAR!

User avatar
HaRT
Moderator
Posts: 8109
Joined: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 17:21
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by HaRT » Wed 22 Aug, 2012 18:15

samjones wrote:It is understandable that ctrl-c was dropped by accident, since a lot of FAR users don't use it.
It wasn't.
The change had been actively discussed in the Russian-language part of the forum and even re-implemented once.
Rather than moan time after time, you are encouraged to create macros for whatever key bindings you like.
Фар есть инструмент, а не нянька. © 2009 DrKnS

KlepetoX
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun 08 Jan, 2012 08:23
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Copying command line

Post by KlepetoX » Wed 22 Aug, 2012 18:58

OK, HaRT, I have created macro, it's a solution. After all, I think that Ctrl-C is now totally useless and confused (why should I copy selected files on panel if command line is not empty?). I never use Ctrl-Ins, always Ctrl-C and in FAR it is always suffering. I never new what I actually copy.

Both of the shortcuts could be configurable somewhere in setup options, while default option should be that Ctrl-C is the same as Ctrl-Ins - I don't know about other program that makes differences between this shortcuts. I remember Photoshop in some older version ignored Ctrl+Ins shortcut and left only Ctrl+C - but very quickly they had to return it back.

User avatar
Centaur
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue 05 Apr, 2005 20:09
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Copying command line

Post by Centaur » Thu 23 Aug, 2012 04:38

The shortcuts are configurable and the configuration mechanism is macros. And if there were a macro on Ctrl+C by default to invoke Ctrl+Ins, then the instructions on how to copy files to clipboard would be even more confusing — “it’s on Ctrl+C but by default there is a macro there that copies selected text so you’ll have to remove that first”.

The default keybindings in FAR are not there to please the majority of users. They are to make all existing features possible. From that, each user makes their own FAR, tailored to that particular user.

User avatar
John Doe
Бюрократ
Posts: 11395
Joined: Wed 27 Apr, 2005 20:42
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by John Doe » Thu 23 Aug, 2012 15:32

Actually I think that different action of this two similar hotkeys - bad idea.
But I doubt we can change anything now, since this idea was implemented by Far Team leader - t-rex.

sysadm-nk-resurs
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue 29 Dec, 2009 19:16

Re: Copying command line

Post by sysadm-nk-resurs » Thu 23 Aug, 2012 17:35

John Doe wrote:Actually I think that different action of this two similar hotkeys - bad idea.
But I doubt we can change anything now, since this idea was implemented by Far Team leather - t-rex.
If t-rex is the "leather" - so, who are the "bones" I wonder? :wink:

User avatar
John Doe
Бюрократ
Posts: 11395
Joined: Wed 27 Apr, 2005 20:42
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: Copying command line

Post by John Doe » Thu 23 Aug, 2012 22:10

Funny misprint :-)

samjones
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:28

ctrl-C not working in FAR Mgr v3 ?

Post by samjones » Mon 11 Feb, 2013 02:00

I have been stuck on v1.7x of FAR manager for years, because v2.x does not have working ctrl-C ....

I just tried v3.... ctrl-C did not work.

Any chance ctrl-C and ctrl-V will be fixed in FAR mgr v3.x?

Thanks!

2useven10
Posts: 3045
Joined: Mon 07 Sep, 2009 10:40
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: ctrl-C not working in FAR Mgr v3 ?

Post by 2useven10 » Mon 11 Feb, 2013 08:03

Why you do not use F1 button ?

Code: Select all

  Copy the names of selected files to the clipboard         Ctrl-Ins
   (if the command line is empty)
  Copy the files to clipboard                                 Ctrl-C
   (ignore command line state)
  Copy the names of selected files to the clipboard   Ctrl-Shift-Ins
   (ignore command line state)
  Copy full names of selected files to the clipboard   Alt-Shift-Ins
   (ignore command line state)
  Copy network (UNC) names of selected files to the     Ctrl-Alt-Ins
   clipboard (ignore command line state)
Also you can create trivial keyboard macro to reassign Ctrl-Ins (or Ctrl-Shift-Ins) action to Ctrl-C.

samjones
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 21 Aug, 2012 23:28

Re: Copy & Paste command line content

Post by samjones » Mon 11 Feb, 2013 16:28

Thank you!

Here is why macros do not help me:

I work on about 20 different systems. About 17 of these systems are ephemeral systems (virtual machines that come and go, often requiring that my tools be reinstalled).

I am not able to install and customize my tools. I need my tools to just install and work from the beginning.

That is why macros do not help me.

I would very much like to use newer versions of FAR. I have been stuck on v1.7x for many years. (Keystrokes like ctrl-C are simply something I expect in all the tools I use. This is a human limitation I live with.)

Thank you!

Post Reply

Return to “Support and Troubleshooting”