archive to inactive panel

You have encountered a problem using Far Manager? Here you can get help.
Post Reply
katip
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 08 May, 2015 19:14

archive to inactive panel

Post by katip » Fri 08 May, 2015 19:24

Hello,

i'm a newbie here and trying to understand FM.
from other double-panel file managers we're used to select one or more files from active panel and "pack" them to the other panel (path). how to achive this with FM? it seems the active path is the only destination? TIA

Katip

User avatar
HaRT
Moderator
Posts: 7984
Joined: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 17:21
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 97 times

archive to inactive panel

Post by HaRT » Fri 08 May, 2015 19:30

When you initiate the “Add to archive” action ([b]ShiftF1[/b]), you can prepend the target archive name with any path you want.
There are shortcuts to put active/passive or left/right panel path into any dialog text edit field — please see “Keyboard reference” section in Help ([b]F1[/b]).
Last edited by HaRT on Fri 08 May, 2015 20:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Minor fixes in terminology
Фар есть инструмент, а не нянька. © 2009 DrKnS

katip
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 08 May, 2015 19:14

archive to inactive panel

Post by katip » Fri 08 May, 2015 19:51

Thank you for quick response HaRT.
F1 didn't help me as far as i understand. but just let me know what to do in case pls:
left panel (active) path and file : c:\path1\file1.txt
right panel (inactive) path : c:\path2

cursor on left panel "file1.txt" + ShiftF1. now how to pack it to c:\path2\file1.zip for instance?? TIA

Katip

User avatar
HaRT
Moderator
Posts: 7984
Joined: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 17:21
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 97 times

archive to inactive panel

Post by HaRT » Fri 08 May, 2015 20:20

katip wrote: now how to pack it to
Please re-read my previous answer, think about what you've just read, re-read it once again, think once more.
katip wrote: F1 didn't help me
You might need to press F1 from a (standard) FAR file panel, as opposed to a dialog belonging to a plugin.
Фар есть инструмент, а не нянька. © 2009 DrKnS

katip
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 08 May, 2015 19:14

archive to inactive panel

Post by katip » Fri 08 May, 2015 21:08

Thank you for your helpful statements. As i'm an incorrigible moron since Amiga & Commodore times, pls be so patient and let me know under which topic of those basic F1 is this immense valuable info - just to narrow down this exciting puzzle:

Panel control
Command line
File management and etc...
Mouse etc...
Menu control commands
Common controls


That's all what i have on my 3.0.4242 main help screen. Sorry for your valuable time Sir.

User avatar
HaRT
Moderator
Posts: 7984
Joined: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 17:21
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 97 times

archive to inactive panel

Post by HaRT » Fri 08 May, 2015 21:40

katip, please provide a screenshot before and after pressing F1. Preferably a text screenshot — use Console's system menu --> Edit --> Select All, then Enter to copy, then [code] here to preserve alignment and [spoiler] to hide the screenshot into a button.

Unexpectedly, the shortcuts I mean are among “Command line commands” but they work in dialog text edit fields too.
Last edited by HaRT on Thu 01 Jan, 1970 01:00, edited 0 times in total.
Reason: Striked out the 1st paragraph, added the 2nd one
Фар есть инструмент, а не нянька. © 2009 DrKnS

Post Reply

Return to “Support and Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest