Insert mode always on for executed commands

Here you can report bugs found in Far Manager.
Post Reply
User avatar
techie
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon 03 Oct, 2005 22:42
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Insert mode always on for executed commands

Post by techie » Thu 21 Mar, 2013 08:44

Install Python 3.3.0.
Execute 'python' from cmd (or from Far2).
Type 'anything', ENTER.
Press UP, LEFT, LEFT and type 'something'.

You will see the string 'anythinsomethingng'.
Now execute 'python' from Far3.
You will see the string 'anythinsomething'.

It seems like it is a Far problem:
http://bugs.python.org/issue17503

2useven10
Posts: 3036
Joined: Mon 07 Sep, 2009 10:40
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Insert mode always on for executed commands

Post by 2useven10 » Thu 21 Mar, 2013 09:24

what if turn off Insert Mode in console window settings ?

User avatar
techie
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon 03 Oct, 2005 22:42
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Insert mode always on for executed commands

Post by techie » Thu 21 Mar, 2013 17:04

It is turned off.

User avatar
DrKnS
Posts: 4637
Joined: Thu 04 Aug, 2005 06:44
Location: Kyiv
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 125 times
Contact:

Re: Insert mode always on for executed commands

Post by DrKnS » Thu 21 Mar, 2013 17:21

It is turned off.
Obviously, to work in 'insert' (not 'overwrite') mode you need to turn it on.

2useven10
Posts: 3036
Joined: Mon 07 Sep, 2009 10:40
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Insert mode always on for executed commands

Post by 2useven10 » Thu 21 Mar, 2013 17:41

Far (same as python) does nothing with insert mode.
Whole behaviour depends on main console Insert mode properties.
So:
cmd.exe (Insert mode X) -> [far2|far3 ->] python -- default insert mode X
Far (2 or 3) (Insert mode X) -> [cmd.exe -> ] python -- def insert mode X

PS: python 2.7. But your report is not correct anyway.

User avatar
techie
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon 03 Oct, 2005 22:42
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Insert mode always on for executed commands

Post by techie » Thu 21 Mar, 2013 18:03

DrKnS wrote:
It is turned off.
Obviously, to work in 'insert' (not 'overwrite') mode you need to turn it on.
It is turned off for Far2, but python3 works ok in there.
For cmd, insert mode is set.
When python2 executed in cmd, the insert mode tick is set, insert works.
When python3 executed in cmd, the insert mode tick is set, insert works.

For Far2, insert mode is cleared (I don't know why).
When python2 executed in Far2, the insert mode tick is set, insert works.
When python3 executed in Far2, the insert mode tick is also set, insert works.

For Far3, insert mode is cleared also (as in Far2).
When python2 executed in Far3, the insert mode tick is set, but insert works.
When python3 executed in Far3, ...

Damn. I restarted Far3 and it worked. I hate such stuff. I have no idea what happened.

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Reports”