Deployment

You have encountered a problem using Far macros? Here you can get help.
Post Reply
hoffenfar
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri 13 Jan, 2012 09:58

Deployment

Post by hoffenfar » Wed 10 Apr, 2013 14:43

If I copy a far manager installation (via xcopy, etc.), including the profile an all settings, to another machine and call it there for the first time, I had to manually dimension the console windows and font type.
Is there any easy way to automate this? Ok, I could write e.g. a little PowerBASIC console program which uses the console API to set the columns and rows, and another one to dynamically load a certain font, put this together in a .BATch wrapper that finally calls FAR, but this isn't really so easy as it sounds :(

KlepetoX
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun 08 Jan, 2012 08:23
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Deployment

Post by KlepetoX » Thu 11 Apr, 2013 14:06

I think it would be possible with Console Control plugin and macro with it running on startup. You can find it here, include some examples in macros http://code.google.com/p/far-plugins/do ... r&can=2&q=

Acerbic
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed 07 Apr, 2010 12:30
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Deployment

Post by Acerbic » Sat 13 Apr, 2013 09:03

or you can use ConEmu. http://code.google.com/p/conemu-maximus5/
Its a visual wrapper for console applications (including Far) and has all the configuration options one may imagine.

Post Reply

Return to “Support and Troubleshooting”