Page 1 of 1

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 15:32
by jonib
Hi,

So I'm trying to move to Far3 (again) and trying to configure it the way I like it.

So when I cycle through the command history the line is selected by default (Why?) I don't like that, but I can't find an option to not have it selected like in Far2.

Surely there is an option I'm missing or do I need a macro?

jonib

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 15:47
by HaRT
jonib wrote: So when I cycle through the command history the line is selected by default
Can you please elaborate how exactly you do it and what is “selected” here?

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 15:58
by jonib
Thanks for the quick reply.
HaRT wrote:Can you please elaborate how exactly you do it and what is “selected” here?
Empty commandline, I press Ctrl+End, the cmdline shows the last command from the history, and it's selected so if I press Backspace the whole line is deleted.
Hopefully this is clearer.

This don't happen in Far2 for me.

jonib

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 16:11
by HaRT
jonib wrote: I press Ctrl+End
I use CtrlE/CtrlX (well, actually I remap it to CtrlD to free CtrlX for “Cut”) and the command line text does not get selected.

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 16:32
by jonib
HaRT wrote:
jonib wrote: I press Ctrl+End
I use CtrlE/CtrlX (well, actually I remap it to CtrlD to free CtrlX for “Cut”) and the command line text does not get selected.
They don't work the same as I can complete a partial command from the history with ctrl+end.

So why was this changed and why is there no option to change it back to how it use to work in Far2?

jonib

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 16:55
by jonib
I wouldn't mind the selection as long as a backspace didn't remove the selected text and only the last character.
Looking in the Far changelog the dialog code seems related and the dialog settings have a

Code: Select all

[ ] Backspace deletes unchanged text
option that would be nice to have for the commandline also.

jonib

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 17:00
by DrKnS
Try the "Append first matched item" in the autocomplete settings.
It's off by default so probably you somehow enabled it yourself.

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 17:08
by HaRT
DrKnS wrote: "Append first matched item" in the autocomplete settings
I have it off, and CtrlEnd still selects the appended text. Whether this is intended or not is a separate question.

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 17:10
by jonib
DrKnS wrote: Try the "Append first matched item" in the autocomplete settings.
It's off by default so probably you somehow enabled it yourself.
I didn't have it enabled and I definitely didn't like it enabled. :bad:

jonib

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 17:33
by Shmuel
Something like this:

Code: Select all

Macro {
  area="Shell"; key="CtrlEnd";
  action=function()
    Keys("CtrlEnd")
    panel.SetCmdLineSelection(nil,1,0)
  end;
}

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 17:47
by jonib
Shmuel wrote: Something like this:
Thanks, but I wasn't really asking for a macro. I wanted to know if there was an option to restore old (Far2/Far1?) behavior as stuff functioned differently.

But as there don't seem to be an option, and your macro seems to make it work like I want, I might as well use it :laugh: so thanks. But I totally didn't ask for it.

jonib

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 17:53
by DrKnS
Looking into code...
It worked differently in a different places earlier, e. g. in command line it was scrolling through the possible matches without selection, while in dialogs - no scrolling, but with selection.

The behaviour has been unified in build 1498 (which is, by the way, still Far2).

So yes, this is definitely intended and there is no option.

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 18:05
by Shmuel
jonib wrote: your macro seems to make it work like I want, I might as well use it :laugh: so thanks. But I totally didn't ask for it.
Then excuse me for my inappropriate behavior (giving out the macro you totally didn't ask for).

Far3 how to remove cmdline history autoselection

Posted: Wed 21 Sep, 2016 18:48
by jonib
DrKnS wrote: The behaviour has been unified in build 1498 (which is, by the way, still Far2).
Holy shit, sometimes I hate my brain, so I'm using "Alternative history" in Far2 so I use a macro to use it's "previous command" command. So that's why I wasn't seeing that in Far2.

I could blame it on how seamless the macro integration is, so it's hard to know what is builtin behavior or not (After years of using it). Just to make sure, I love Far's macro support.

I'm sorry for wasting everyone's time. It's just so frustrating moving everything from far2 and everytime I can't get something like I want it, I go back to Far2 (That I never got to the same level as Far1 even :cry: ) I hate not having the energy for this stuff like I used to.
So yes, this is definitely intended and there is no option.
OK, I got my answer.

jonib