Page 1 of 1

Resolving network names in command line

Posted: Fri 21 Sep, 2018 09:50
by blabulabul
Is it possible to turn off resolving DN in command line? Sometimes it hangs for a long time while typing something like "\\abcd\...".

Resolving network names in command line

Posted: Fri 21 Sep, 2018 11:57
by HaRT
Not exactly what you ask for, but you can turn AutoComplete off completely (pun intended) in Command Line settings (via the Options menu).

Resolving network names in command line

Posted: Fri 21 Sep, 2018 12:58
by blabulabul
Yes, disabling AutoComplete will cause disable resolving DN too, but I don't want to disable AutoComplete.

You can try writing to the command line "cd \\something\boo" and while writing Far will try to resolve "something" as network name, so writing backslash before "boo" will freeze for a few second.

Resolving network names in command line

Posted: Fri 21 Sep, 2018 13:46
by 2useven10
You can start autocomplete manually via Ctrl+Space even if Cmdline Autocomplete disabled.

Resolving network names in command line

Posted: Mon 25 Nov, 2019 12:18
by Xerox
blabulabul, you totally have not to turn off auto-complete completely.
Your just make this config:

Code: Select all

Cmdline.AutoComplete                      │boolean│true
Dialog.AutoComplete                       │boolean│true
Interface.Completion.Append               │boolean│false
Interface.Completion.ModalList            │boolean│false
Interface.Completion.ShowList             │boolean│true
Interface.Completion.UseEnvironment       │3-state│true
Interface.Completion.UseFilesystem        │3-state│OTHER
Interface.Completion.UseHistory           │3-state│true
Interface.Completion.UsePath              │3-state│true
See OTHER value for "Interface.Completion.UseFilesystem",
it will make the difference you need (being stuck on network paths),
while not affecting other stuff.
And you still also may use Ctrl+space to explicitly call all the auto-complete you may need