Populating dialog field with current directory

You want to talk about Far Manager, but don't know where to turn?
Post Reply
old_gregg
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri 01 May, 2015 16:04
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by old_gregg »

Hi all,

I'm learning Far and I love it so far. Anyway...

When I (for example) put the cursor on a zip file and hit Shift-F2, the Extract Files dialog appears and the "Extract files to" text field is populated with "C:\Program Files\Far Manager\". Is there a hotkey to replace that with the current directory?

Or better yet, can I make that default to the current directory?

Thanks!
Gregg

old_gregg
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri 01 May, 2015 16:04
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by old_gregg »

Ctrl-. to insert current directory would be intuitive, I think

Shmuel
Posts: 6031
Joined: Thu 23 Mar, 2006 21:36
Location: Israel
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by Shmuel »

old_gregg wrote: and the "Extract files to" text field is populated with "C:\Program Files\Far Manager\"
Not exactly, it is populated with the directory of the passive panel, whatever it is.
old_gregg wrote: Is there a hotkey to replace that with the current directory?
No, AFAIK.
old_gregg wrote: can I make that default to the current directory?
Yes, with a macro. But first check the plugin ArcLite's settings, may be you find there something like that.

pepak
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun 13 Jul, 2008 11:18
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by pepak »

But you can press CTRL+[ to use the Left directory and CTRL+] to use the Right directory.

old_gregg
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri 01 May, 2015 16:04
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by old_gregg »

pepak wrote:But you can press CTRL+[ to use the Left directory and CTRL+] to use the Right directory.
Ah, nice! That makes sense too. Thanks!

old_gregg
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri 01 May, 2015 16:04
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by old_gregg »

Shmuel wrote:
old_gregg wrote: and the "Extract files to" text field is populated with "C:\Program Files\Far Manager\"
Not exactly, it is populated with the directory of the passive panel, whatever it is.
Ah right, the passive panel.
old_gregg wrote: can I make that default to the current directory?
Yes, with a macro. But first check the plugin ArcLite's settings, may be you find there something like that.[/quote]
I'll have to learn about macros. I don't see anything in ArcLite config. Thanks!

User avatar
DrKnS
Posts: 5526
Joined: Thu 04 Aug, 2005 06:44
Location: Kyiv
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 281 times

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by DrKnS »

old_gregg wrote:Is there a hotkey to replace that with the current directory?
Ctrl+Shift+[

User avatar
HaRT
Moderator
Posts: 9271
Joined: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 17:21
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by HaRT »

old_gregg wrote:Is there a hotkey to replace that with the current directory?
Why not just type a dot?
Фар есть инструмент, а не нянька. © 2009 DrKnS

old_gregg
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri 01 May, 2015 16:04
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Populating dialog field with current directory

Post by old_gregg »

HaRT wrote:
old_gregg wrote:Is there a hotkey to replace that with the current directory?
Why not just type a dot?
Ummm, I don't know? :oops:

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussions”